ANCHR Magazine

Holding you down with the best new music

Filtering by Tag: Gigs We Dig

LIVE: Elliot Moss at Baby's All Right 6.24.17

Multi-instrumentalist, songwriter, and producer Elliot Moss graced the stage at the legendary Baby’s All Right in Brooklyn, New York on Saturday night.  As soon as you walked into the 280-person venue, an eerie yet calming sense hung in the air, a vibe that closely matches the mood in some of Moss's tunes. The singer has described his main goal as taking the listener through an unworldly experience, and Moss did just that this past weekend, using his electro-pop sound and ethereal vocals. Throughout the night, he kept the talking to a minimum and focused on delivering a show that left the audience hanging onto every chorus and craving more.

Elliot Moss at Baby's All Right 6.24.17

Elliot Moss at Baby's All Right 6.24.17

Kicking things off with “High Speeds” from his debut album, Moss quickly opened up, revealing himself in his songs. Raw, unfiltered emotion comes through in all of his songs, especially during a live performance. With his endless talents, Moss effortlessly goes through each song with his piano and guitar with such passion, that it’s hard to not feel the same emotions he tries to portray through his songwriting. Song’s such as “Even Great Things” and “Slip” deal with issues such as the loss of a loved one and depression. Although the topics are dark, Moss delivers it in a way that shows both sides to each situation, and he's managed to turn the pain into a way for his listeners to cope. 

Moss's therapeutic and hypnotizing set consisted of songs from both his first album “High Speeds” as well as his new EP “Boomerang”. By the end of the night, the crowd was begging for an encore. Once again, Moss did not disappoint and delivered with “I Can’t Swim” and “VCR Machine”.

Leaving the venue, the room buzzed with positive remarks about the performance that had just transpired. There is no doubt that there are only good things coming for Moss this year as he continues to tour. You can check him out on the rest of his tour here. 

The Set List

  1.    Highspeeds 
  2. Faraday Cage    
  3. Closed Loop   
  4. Falling Down and Getting Hurt   
  5. Plastic II  
  6. Even Great Things    
  7. Slip
  8. Best Light 
  9. 99
  10. About Time
  11. Big Bad Wolf
  12. Without the Lights
  13. I Can’t Swim
  14. VCR Machine

Can't get enough of Elliot Moss? Check out our interview with him here

Jacob Banks Hooks Chicago Crowd with a Powerful and Emotional Delivery

British singer Jacob Banks commanded the crowd’s attention at Schubas Tavern on Thursday night with his full-bodied, soulful voice and subtle stage presence. The Interscope Records signee took the stage around 9PM, donning a Cubs jacket and backed by a drummer and keyboardist/guitarist. Jacob dove right into the nine song set, kicking things off with his piano-driven 2013 track “Worthy.”  Before playing his next song “Part Time Love,”  Jacob addressed the crowd, saying he’s here from the UK “exclusively to fuck with you” and explained that this song was about dating an alcoholic, warning the crowd not to do it.  The energy of the night reached full potential with the anthemic tune “Monster,” the whole crowd clapping together during the introduction.

Jacob Banks at Schubas Tavern 2/9/17

Jacob Banks at Schubas Tavern 2/9/17

The set moved onto new song “Mercy,” which Jacob prefaced by saying it will be released via a new EP coming in the next couple of months.  A hush fell over the crowd when things slowed down with ballad “Unknown.”  The 24 year old songwriter sang out his vulnerabilities, putting raw emotion behind these honest and relatable lyrics about the end of a relationship, and the crowd showed their appreciation by erupting in massive applause at the end. The mood lightened back up with a reggae-tinged cover of Corinne Bailey Rae’s hit “Put Your Records On.” Jacob started the song by saying he had to put up for his home country, also joking “if you don’t know this song, you’re weird.”  

The set started winding down with another new one, which Jacob introduced saying “this is another new one, fuck with me,” also introducing his band before starting to play “Chain Smoking.”  Immediately after, a fan shouted out “play Silver Lining!”...which coincidentally was the next on the set list, and proved to be a crowd favorite with its gospel structure.  The set ended just after 9:30 with “Unholy War,” a new track just released this week, with retro R&B vibes.  

As Jacob walked off stage to massive applause and an audience full of smiles, it seems like he indeed accomplished his mission to win over the crowd.  Throughout the set he really managed to work the stage, albeit small with minimal production. The crowd remained hooked by Jacob’s raw vocal talent and emotional delivery, and we can’t wait to hear what’s next from this breakout performer.  He’ll be on tour for the rest of the month with Swedish songstress LÉON; check out the tour dates below:

Keep your eyes and ears out for new music from Jacob Banks, but for now, start your weekend with his latest release, "Unholy War."