ANCHR Magazine

Holding you down with the best new music

New Music Friday 5/12

So many new tracks out this week from some of our favorites! Check out what we'll be listening to all weekend, including Post Animal, Kacy Hill, The National, Girlpool, Kyla La Grange, and more!

Post Animal- "Special Moment"

Post Animal is back in all their guitar glory with their first single since their 2016 EP The Garden Series. If you like what you hear in "Special Moment" (which you most likely will), check them out on their massive Summer tour. You can see all their upcoming shows here, including our ACLU benefit show with them on 7/10. 

Kacy Hill- "Like A Woman" and "Hard To Love"

Also making a long-awaited comeback, Kacy Hill has released not one but two singles today. Both tracks feature her incredible voice, which somehow manages to soar to a beautiful falsetto while also packing a powerful punch. Kacy has also recently confirmed a debut album is on the way, so stay tuned for that.

Fleet Foxes- "Fool's Errand"

In advance of their new album Crack Up, out on June 16th, Fleet Foxes have released this new layered single, featuring a beautiful piano outro. 

Sundara Karma- "Explore"

After releasing their debut album back in January, Sundara Karma are already back with the single "Explore," with groovin' guitar riffs and an explosive chorus. 

The National- "The System Only Dreams In Total Darkness"

This new single from The National isn't all that's new from them this week! The band announced earlier in the week that their new album drops September 8th, followed by a world tour. 

Bleachers- "Everybody Lost Somebody"

Bleachers is back with their third single from their upcoming album. Dynamic and layered, "Everybody Lost Somebody" highlights frontman Jack Antonoff's willingness to explore new territories with his music. Along with the album out on June 2, Bleachers will be hitting the road this summer. Check out their tour dates here. 

Imagine Dragons- "Whatever It Takes"

From the upcoming album Evolve (out 6/23), this new track from Imagine Dragons shows them pushing their sonic boundaries and exploring a different facet of their sound. With a cinematic build during the chorus, this song is a must-listen. Check out the band's upcoming world tour dates here.

Ingrid Michaelson & Tegan and Sara- "Whole Lot of Heart"

We can't stress enough how beautiful this collaboration between Ingrid Michaelson and Tegan and Sara is. The song comes as part of an EP full of collaborations between Ingrid and other artists, which you can check out in full here.

Kyla La Grange- "Violet Blue"

Although it's been a while since Kyla La Grange's 2014 album, she's been drip feeding us new singles every couple of months. The latest, "Violet Blue," features Kyla's delicately beautiful vocals and honest lyrics. 

Nick Murphy (FKA Chet Faker)- Missing Link EP

Formally known as Chet Faker, singer-songwriter and producer Nick Murphy is back with a 5-song EP, featuring a track with fellow producer KAYTRANADA. Along with the new music, Murphy has announced an upcoming tour. Check out dates here.

Girlpool- Powerplant

Girlpool is back with a new album after 2015's Before The World Was Big. In addition to the new album, you can catch Girlpool on tour. See all the dates here. 


Thumbnail artwork by Olivia Oyamada